The Art Deco Welcome Center Blogs Prt. 2

Posted on Updated on

 

The Design, Midtown, Wynwood Experience
06/30/2011

So Art Lovers, planning a trip to Wynwood, Midtown, the Design District? Want to visit local art galleries? At the risk of sounding like a cheesy jingle or commercial… Well we finally have a cost efficient solution for you. It’s our Art District/Food tour known as DMW (Design, Midtown, Wynwood Experience). It’s my absolute favorite as of yet. (I’m a bit bias since it has my 2 favorite things, food and art and all for a seriously kick butt price) The tour basically consists of a walk through 1 to 2 private collections, a 3 course meal either for lunch or dinner and a tour through some curated galleries. And best of all, that kick butt price I mentioned before (drum roll please) is only $69.

When I did the tour, I got to meet with gallery owner Bernice Steinbaum , a pixie sized woman in heels with impeccable fashion sense who said “ I should have been born 6ft tall” her noticeable love and knowledge of art was infectious; and Rosa de la Cruz, a Cuban woman who uses her private collection both in the gallery located just over the bridge and her private collection at home in Key Biscayne to reach out to the youth. Admission to the gallery is free of charge. The art in these 2 galleries alone go above and beyond the norm and even some of the more traditional art is breathtaking.

For $69 you’ll definitely get more than you bargained for. So if you have time on your next vacation or you’re a local art lover you need to get over here and book your ‘Art District & Food Tour’ now… and I do mean now!

-Tiffany M. Oharriz

Segway Tour
06/10/2011

Let me just begin by saying what a wonderful experience this was; completely different than what I expected. I have to admit, I used to watch the people on segways ride by and laugh at how ridiculous they looked with the helmets and I swore I’d never in my right mind ride one. So understandably when my boss told me she was sending me on this new tour so I could write about it, I got excited. Then my metaphoric bubble was burst when she said the dreaded ‘S’ word, Segway. I was being sent on a 2 hour segway tour, my excitement dwindled immediately and was replace with fear, because I’m so clumsy I can trip on air and well, embarrassment, I definitely can’t rock the helmet look.

But anyhow, the tour itself is a work in progress. The guys conducting the tour were pretty awesome and genuinely nice. The tour lets you experience firsthand the beauty of South Beach. The guys start the tour with a half hour or so of prepping and safety tips. Then the fun really starts. You drive down to the Beach boardwalk in Lummus Park, then through the Art Deco District. Along the way you’ll see Art Deco buildings, restaurants, cool hotspots and get some very cool info on the history of South Beach. But my absolute favorite part was the stop at South Pointe Park right by the pier, where the scenery was absolutely breathtaking.

My only complaint, other than helmet hair and small shoulder sunburn, was the quiet ride back. The first part of the tour was jam packed with info but the second half was a little quiet for me. While that was my only complaint, I know some people like that time to recoup, process the information, or just cruise on the segway. All in all the tour was a great experience. While I can no longer rock the helmet hair of segway riders I’ll occupy my time by keeping you posted on any segway tour updates. But for now pack a couple of comfy shoes, sunscreen, bug repellent, stay hydrated and book your next tour with us. We’d love to help you plan your next trip so stop by.

-Tiffany M. Oharriz 🙂

(Be sure to read the Gallery Update posted on the blog below…. it’s this Saturday!)

Read More

Second Saturday Gallery Walk Update
06/10/2011

Ok Ok, so I had two awesome events to get out in one day. Here’s another goodie for you, every second Saturday of the every month (that means tomorrow) there will be a 4:45pm shuttle from the Art Deco Welcome Center just over the bridge to the Design District, Midtown and Wynwood and its only $20 dollars! So stop reading this and come over to The Art Welcome Center and pick up your ticket now! It’s totally worth it

-Tiffany M. Oharriz

Culture Shock Miami!
06/08/2011

If you missed Miami Museum Month in May, you missed an amazing deal! But fear not art lovers across the globe (Miami Beach locals this means you too!) Culture Shock has graced us with its presence once again. Students ages 13-22 pay only $5 to attend Miami Dade’s top cultural event. (Does the name make any sense yet?) Literally it’s $5 dollars for performances and this one’s my favorite 2 for $5 museum tickets. Want more info, stop by pick up the flyer or visit their website.

So what are you waiting for, start getting cultural!

-Tiffany M. Oharriz

Memorial Day Weekend
05/28/2011

So Miamians, Miami Beach locals and visitors, we have a slight change of schedule this glorious weekend…. Our hours this weekend have changed!

Saturday 9:30am – 3:00pm
Sunday 9:30am – 3:00pm
Monday we are closed

So make sure to visit us today and tomorrow during our buisness hours to book your tours and get info!

On Tuesday May 31st we will resume with our normal hours of operation! 9:30am – 5:00pm

Enjoy your weekend and Be Safe! 😀

-Tiffany

Sister Cities Art Show
05/26/2011

The First Annual Sister Cities International Artist Showcase was a complete success, and has officially come to a close. I must say I felt a small pang of sadness as the artists filed in to whisk away their pieces. But enough about my personal turmoil, lets tell you a bit about the exhibit.
Artist from Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Peru, Colombia, Miami Beach, Israel, Italy and Spain came together and supplied the art featured in the showcase. And let me just say the art was amazing. The “Young Artist Showcase” award winning pieces created by children were jaw dropping.

I made a mad dash on Monday through the exhibit hall to peruse the pieces on display, hoping to see something that made me feel the lovely tingles you get when you see BEAUTIFUL art, and I can’t say it enough, the art work was amazing. Every piece made me get those tingles and before I knew it…. the 20 minutes I had set aside had become a good 45 minutes extra!

If you didn’t get a chance to stop by The Art Deco Welcome Center, you sure did miss an absolutely lovely Art Show Case.

My advice, the next time you hear about art exhibits in The Art Deco Welcome Center; mosey on over a check it out ofcourse 😉 Pop in and they’ll fill you in on what is happening next! Now if you have the time click the Read More link located on the bottom right to see a slideshow of some of the art!

-Tiffany M. Oharriz

Read More

Tell us what you think!

